Thursday August 22, 2019

Sri Lanka Parliament majority group shows 121 in vote

Nov 23, 2018 11:35 AM GMT+0530 | 0 Comment(s)

ECONOMYNEXT - A majority made up of 121 legislators of Sri Lanka's 225-member assembly voted to approve a committee where with five members loyal to Mahinda Rajapaksa and six others, which will be chaired by the Speaker.

An electronic vote was taken with Rajapaksa loyalists walking out of the chamber.

Speaker Jayasuriya named Dinesh Gunewardene, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Wimal Weerawansa from the United Peoples Freedom Alliance.

Lakshman Kiriella, Rauf Hakeem, Rishard Bathiudeen, Mano Ganeshan, Patali Champika Ranawaka and Mavai Senathiraja (ITAK) and Vijtha Herath (JVP) were named as the other members. (Colombo/Nov23/2018)


Name *
Email *
Telephone Number