Current set of MPs did not receive liquor licenses – Finance Ministry

The Ministry of Finance yesterday (05) said that none of the current set of parliamentarians have been issued a liquor license.

Issuing a statement, the Ministry said that although the owners of hotels approved by the Tourist Board were given liquor licenses since 2015 with the intention of developing the tourism industry, no parliamentarians were issued one.

“Any person who wants to obtain a liquor license could do so by following the terms and conditions imposed by the Excise Department. There are currently 4,910 licensed liquor shops in the country and 1,100 of them are retailers. Of the rest, 1,567 hoteliers and the remaining 554 restaurateurs.

“The Excise Department has issued licenses for 368 wine and beer outlets, as well as 200 toddy taverns.  In addition, the Department has issued licenses for 1,080 foreign liquor sales outlets,” the statement said.

The statement further said that the list of liquor permit holders is published on the website of the Excise Department. No such site appears to exist, however. But the Government Information Centre has a list of guidelines on the issuance of excise licenses.

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *