DFCC Bank joins Sri Lanka’s common ATM network

ECONOMYNEXT – DFCC Bank said it had joined LankaPay, Sri Lanka’s common automated teller machine network allowing customers to draw cash from machines operated by other banks.

LankaPay charges smaller fees than international card clearing companies. It is operated by Lanka Clear, Sri Lanka clearing house which is jointly owned by banks and the central bank.

"Partnering with LankaPay gives all our account holders the flexibility and convenience of withdrawing cash and carrying out balance inquiries via over 3,500 LankaPay member banks ATMs free of charge, across the island," DFCC Chief Executive Arjun Fernando said in a statement.

People’s Bank, Bank Of Ceylon, Hatton National Bank, Seylan Bank, NDB Bank, Union Bank, Regional Development Bank, Commercial Bank, Cargills Bank, Habib Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, Sampath Bank, Pan Asia Bank, Nations Trust Bank, HDFC Bank of Sri Lanka, MCB Bank Ltd and National Savings Bank are already in the network.

LankaClear Chief Executive Channa de Silva said LankaPay now had 97 percent of all ATMs in its network. Every month 2.5 million interbank transactions went through the system. (Colombo/May26/2016)

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *