Header Ad

Harsha quits as UNP Treasurer, joins Sajith

Former State Minister Dr Harsha de Silva is the latest of the high-profile United National Party leaders to throw in their weight with the Sajith Premadasa led Samagi Jana Balawegaya to contest the upcoming Parliamentary General elections.
He said he met the UNP Leader, former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe Wednesday and handed in his resignation as Treasurer of the Grand Old Party.
“He was not happy and asked me not to leave and offered me nomination,” de Silva said in a tweet.

Meanwhile the SJB and the UNP both handed in nominations in several parts of the country today.
UNP General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam signed on several people including journalist Mahesh Senanayake to contest the Kandy District.
Two weeks ago the former UNP leader for the Kandy District Lakshman Kirella joined Premadasa. He and his daughter Chami Kiriella are both likely to get nominations from the SJB.
A senior adviser to Premadasa however claimed that “more than 90 per cent” of the former UNP Organisers had joined the SJB.
He claimed that in the Ratnapura District the UNP was struggling to find candidates to contest the election.

-Arjuna Ranawana

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *