Header Ad

Mahinda Yapa Elected unanimously as new Speaker of Parliament

Veteran Parliamentarian Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena

ECONOMYNEXT – Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene was elected as the new Speaker of Parliament unanimously by members of Parliament.

Parliament proceedings began at 9:30 this morning with the Secretary-General of Parliament Dhammika Dissanayake reading the proclamation of the President summoning Parliament.

Parliament then proceeded to elect the Speaker of Parliament.

The name of Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene Matara District Member of Parliament from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna was proposed by Leader of the House Gunewardena and seconded by Opposition MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara.

So he was elected unanimously.

Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena has been appointed Leader of the House and Highways Minister Johnston Fernando as Chief Government Whip. (Colombo, August 20, 2020)

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *