Header Ad

Main opposition still deadlocked over nominees for National List seats

ECONOMYNEXT – The Main Opposition Samagi Jana Balavegaya (SJB) remains deadlocked over finalizing its National List with Party Leaders planning to meet tomorrow to confirm the names.

A day after the votes were counted the SJB released a list on Social Media naming seven politicians who campaigned across the country on the National List.

They include Party Secretary-General Ranjit Madduma Bandara and National Organiser Tissa Attanayake.

The sole woman in the list is actress and lawyer Diana Gamage who is also the party’s Deputy General-Secretary.

However, until tonight the party has not finalized the list which has to be submitted to the National Elections Commission on Friday.

Some of the candidates who were nominated were those who were persuaded by the party leadership to refrain from contesting from their traditional seats to campaign across the country.

The SJB’s component parties such as the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress and the Democratic People’s Front had been promised National List seats, party sources said.

Party Leader Sajith Premadasa met with the leaders this morning, but there was no conclusion, these sources said.

Yesterday DPF Leader Mano Ganesan tweeted that the party leaders will ensure that the discussion about the National List will not create divisions among the allies.

The governing Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna swiftly issued its National List Nominees with hours of the announcement of the seat allocations as did the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Katchi. (Colombo, August 11, 2020)





Reported by Arjuna Ranawana


Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *