An Echelon Media Company
Thursday September 29th, 2022

Major changes in polling divisions won by Sirisena in 2015

Presidential Election 2019 which was held last Saturday (16 Nov) shows a significant change in voting patterns when compared to the 2015 election in many Polling divisions which were won last time by Maithripala Sirisena.

In the Gampaha district which had the most number of registered voters of 1,751,892 and out which 1,443,800 were valid votes voted, shows that the SLPP candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa has able to turn tables in the entire district which was won by Sirisena last time.

Major defeats for the UNP lead NDF candidate Sajith Premadasa can be seen from Katana and Ja-Ela polling divisions and especially Katuwapitiya where the Chuch was hit in the Easter Sunday attacks.

When it comes to Kandy district it had also suffered the same fate as Gampaha district where the SLPP has managed to secure the victory of the overall district, which was lost by Mahinda Rajapaksa in 2015.

Polling divisions like Kundasale, Teldeniya, Senkadagala and Yatinuwara which were won in 2015 were lost by Sajith Premadasa while he had barely won the polling divisions like Udunuwara and Patha Dumbara which were won by large margins in 2015.

Meanwhile, Sajith Premadasa was able to maintain his lead in the Nuwara-Eliya district, although there are changes in the overall percentages. While Gotabaya Rajapaksa only managed to secure the Hanguranketha polling division.

Gotabaya Rajapaksa was able to strengthen the overall victory in Matale district while Sajith Premadasa was only able to win the Matale polling division by a majority of 700 odd votes.

Sajith Premadasa was able to win the Galle polling division while Gotabaya Rajapaksa was able to take a record-breaking overall percentage of votes in Galle district of 64.26% when compared to 2005, 2010 and 2015 presidential elections.

The same strengthening of power could be seen in the Matara district where the overall percentage of the district was greater than the previous presidential elections since 2005. On the other hand, Sajith Premadasa lost Matara polling division by more than 50 per cent votes which was won by Maithripala Sirisena in 2015.

While Gotabaya Rajapaksa was able to further strengthen the power compared to 2015 in Kegalle and Hambantota districts which was also the district of Sajith Premadasa, his opponent was able to strengthen power in Jaffna and Batticaloa 2015.

UNP led alliance NDF could not retain the victory of the Polonnaruwa district which was the home district of Maithripala Sirisena with SLFP led by Sirisena backing Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Kurunegala district also follows the same fate as the Gampaha district where Sajith Premadasa has managed to loose the two polling division won by their faction in 2015, which are Kurunegala and Mawathagama.

Surprisingly Sajith Premadasa has managed score the least percentage of votes in Colombo district which had also led to the highest percentage scored by their opposite fraction in a presidential election since 2005.

Polling divisions such as Rathmalana, Kotte, Kollanawa and Moratuwa were lost this time when compared to 2015.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.