Members to decide future course over Sri Lanka CB Governor: COPE Chief

ECONOMYNXT – Members of Sri Lanka parliament’s Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) will decide over the future course and action over Sri Lanka’s central bank governor, its chairman Sunil Handunetti said.

Sri Lanka’s Auditor General is expected to present a report on some allegations against Central Bank Governor Arjuna Mahendran to the COPE Thursday when it meets Thursday.

Handunetti said Wednesday he was unable to say whether a vote would be taken on the report.

Handunetti said he could not say whether a vote would be taken. He was only the Chairman and could not take unilateral decisions.

"The Committee will decide on any action when it meets," he said. "That is why we call it a committee."

There have been allegations by the opposition that a vote would be taken to ‘clear’ Mahendran. Mahendran had said he will take up the position of Governor if the COPE clears his name.

Earlier this week Handunetti was quoted as saying that he would quit COPE if there was outside pressure.

During the life of the last parliament the COPE called and examined a large number of witnesses before compiling a draft report and all members had a chance to question them. The parliament was dissolved before the report was released.

COPE members are: Sunil Handunnetti (Chairman – JVP ) Rauff Hakeem (SLMC), Anura Priiyadarshana Yapa (UPFA), Dayasiri Jayasekera (UPFA), Ravindra Samaraweera (UNP), Wasantha Aluvihare (UNP), Lasantha Alagiyawanna (UPFA), Dr Harsha de Silva (UNP), Ajith P Perera (UNP), Ranjan Ramanayake (UNP), Ashoka Abeysinghe (UNP), Anura Kumara Dissanayake (JVP), Lakshman Seneviratne (UPFA), Chandrasiri Gajadeera (UPFA), Bimal Ratnayake (JVP), Weerakumara Dissanayake (UPFA), Mavai Senathiraja (TNA), MA Sumanthiran (TNA), Hector Appuhamy (UNP), Velu Kumar (UNP), Dr Nalinda Jayatissa (JVP), Harshana Rajakaruna (UNP), S Sritharan (TNA), Abdulla Maharoof (ACMC), Gnamutthu Srinesan (TNA) and Mahindananda Aluthgamage (UPFA).





Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *