Header Ad

MR sworn in as the new Prime Minister

Former President and Leader of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in today (21 Nov). as the 24th Prime Minister of Sri Lanka before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by former President Maithripala Sirisena, former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, former Ministers and several other dignitaries.

Following the defeat his Party candidate’s Sajith Premadasa at the recently concluded Presidential Election, former Premier Wickremesinghe tendered his resignation clearing the way for new President to form a government.

The newly elected Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa was first elected to the Parliament in 1970 and served as Prime Minister from 6 April 2004 until his victory in the 2005 presidential election. He was sworn in for his first six-year term as president on 19 November 2005. He was re-elected for a second term on 27 January 2010.

A lawyer by profession, Rajapaksa represents the Southern electorate of Hambantota. He held many portfolios including Labour and Vocational Training, Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development and Minister of Port, Shipping and Fisheries.

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *