Header Ad

MR to contest from Kurunegala, no leader named for Polonnaruwa

ODD MAN OUT -Former President Maithripala Sirisena with his eyes closed and hands together as President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Shiranthi Rajapaksa look on as Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa signs his nomination papers surrounded by party leaders in Colombo March 11, 2020

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa will contest the upcoming Parliamentary General Election from his adopted constituency of Kurunegala the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) confirmed today.

This was after candidates from the SLPP who are contesting under the Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandhanaya (SLNPS) signed their nomination papers at the residence of the Prime Minister at Wijerama Mawatha in Colombo on Wednesday.

Most districts in the South were signed up, except for Polonnaruwa. In the North and East, the alliance is likely to contest under different symbols.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa sat by his elder brother during the signing.

Although under fire from some SLPP leaders, former President the Sri Lanka Freedom Party leader Maithripala Sirisena was present at the signing.

Thereafter the District Leaders signed their nomination papers.

The leaders are:

Colombo – Dinesh Gunewardena

Gampaha – Prasanna Ranatunga

Kalutara – Rohitha Abegunawardene





Ratnapura – Vasudeva Nanayakkara

Matara – Dullas Alahapperuma

Galle – Ramesh Pathirana

Kegalle – Kanaka Herath

Badulla – Nimal Siripala de Silva

Moneragala – Shashindra Rajapaksa

Anuradhapura – S M Chandrasena

Puttalam – Sanath Nishantha

Trincomalee – Susantha Punchinilame

Kandy – Mahindananda Aluthgamage

Nuwera Eliya – Arumugam Thondaman

Hambantota – Namal Rajapaksa

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *