Nine-member committee to draft new Sri Lanka Constitution – Gammanpila

ECONOMYNEXT – The government’s amendments to the Sri Lankan Constitution will be a two-step process, Minister Udaya Gammanpila told the weekly Cabinet Press briefing today.

The first step would be the 20th Amendment which will correct “anomalies” in the current Constitution and the second will be drafting of a completely new Constitution, Gammanpila said.

The Amendment has been written and has been sent to the Government Printer to be Gazetted, officials said.

The drafting of a new basic law has been handed over to a nine-member committee headed by President’s Counsel Romesh de Silva.

The other members of the Committee are Gamini Marapana PC, Manohara de Silva PC, Professor G H Peiris, Professor Naazima Kamardeen, Senior-Lecturer A Sarweswaran, Saman Ratwatte PC, Sanjeewa Jayawardhana PC and Professor Wasantha Seneviratne.

(Colombo September 3, 2020)

Reported by Arjuna Ranawana


Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *