Ninth Parliament: Mahinda Yapa Speaker, Siyambalapitiya Deputy, Sajith Leader of the Opposition

ECONOMYNEXT – Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene was elected as Speaker of the Ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka unanimously by the new Members today.

Parliament proceedings began at 9:30 this morning with the Secretary-General of Parliament Dhammika Dissanayake reading the proclamation of the President summoning Parliament.

Parliament then proceeded to elect the Speaker of Parliament.

The name of Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene Matara District Member of Parliament from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna was proposed by Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena and seconded by Opposition MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara.

Ranjith Siyambalapitiya was elected Deputy Speaker and Angajan Ramanathan as the Deputy Chairman of Committees.

The Speaker recognized Sajith Premadasa as the Leader of the Opposition.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa congratulating the new Speaker said he was proud that an MP from the South honoured by his election.

Premadasa the leader of the Samagi Jana Balavegaya congratulated Abeywardene asking him to conduct affairs with “malice towards none.”

R Sampanthan leader of the TNA, Rauff Hakeem leader of the SLMC, Mano Ganesan from the Democratic People’s Front, Douglas Devananda of the EPDP, V Vigneswaran for the TMVK, Maithripala Sirisena for the SLFP, Anura Kumara Dissanayake of the NPP, Rishard Bathiudeen of the ACMC, Wimal Weerawansha  NSSP, Udaya Gammanpila PHU, Jeevan Thondaman CWC, Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam ACTC, Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan TMVP, and Vasudeva Nanayakkara of the NSSP spoke congratulating the Speaker.

Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena has been appointed Leader of the House and Highways Minister Johnston Fernando as Chief Government Whip. (Colombo, August 20, 2020)





Reported by Arjuna Ranawana


Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *