No confidence motion against Sri Lanka government fails

ECNONOMYNEXT  – A no-confidence motion presented in parliament by Sri Lanka’s opposition Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna was defeated with a majority of 119 legislators of the 225 member assembly voting with Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The JVP said Wickrmesinghe’s administration had failed to protect the people from Easter Sunday attacks. The motion saw only 92 members voting to support the no confidence motion.

The Tamil National Alliance also voted against the motion.

Wickremesinghe’s United National Party legislators said it was not fair to make only him the target since President Maithripala Sirisena was defence minister, and had kept the Prime Minister out of national security meetings. (Colombo/July11/2019)

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *