Header Ad

Premadasa loyalists boycott UNP meeting as four MPs get sacked from WC

ECONOMYNEXT – About 30 to 35 United National Party (UNP) MPs have decided to boycott today’s Working Committee meeting, a party senior told EconomyNext.

The meeting was scheduled for 3pm today at the UNP’s headquarters at Sirikotha to iron out issues pertaining to the party’s leadership.

The boycott comes in the wake of reports earlier this afternoon that Premadasa loyalist MPs Ajith P Perera, Sarath Fonseka, Imitiyaz Bakir Makar and Rosy Senanayake were removed from the Working Committee.

No reason has been officially communicated for the sudden dismissals, but it’s “obviously because they’re close to SP”, the party senior said.

Sri Lanka’s main opposition party has been embroiled in a leadership crisis since the party’s defeat at the presidential election last November.

A faction of MPs want presidential candidate Sajith Premadasa as party leader, though current leader and former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe appears to be sticking to his guns. (Colombo/Jan30/2020)

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *