President appoints committee to probe Easter Sunday blasts

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a three member committee to look into the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

The Committee is headed by Supreme Court Judge Vijith Malalgoda and comprises former Inspector General of Police N K Ilamgakoon and former Ministry Secretary P Jayamanne.

Compensation for victims

The Cabinet has decided to grant compensation for the victims of the Easter Sunday massacre, Health Minister Rajitha Senaratne announced today. He said Rs100,000 would be given to the families of the deceased towards the funeral expenses and a further One million rupees as compensation. Those injured in the blasts will be given between Rs100,000 and Rs. 350,000 depending on the severity of the injury.

Promotions for deceased Policemen

Posthumous promotions have been given to the three police officers who were killed when they raided the hideout of the Easter Sunday terrorists in Dematagoda. The Sub-Inspector has been promoted to Inspector rank and the two Constables to Sergeant rank.

Explosive defused

A device left behind in the vehicle that brought the the suicide bombers who attacked St Anthony’s Shrine at Kochchikade exploded harmlessly while the Police Bomb Squad was attempting to defuse it.

Police say they found 87 detonators in a bus stand along Bastian street in Pettah

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *