Header Ad

President appoints seven new Ministry Secretaries; Army General for Health

ECONOMYNEXT – President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed six new Permanent Secretaries to Ministries bringing in two senior military men to run the key ministries of Health and Mahaweli.

The Health Ministry Secretary Bhadrani Jayawardhana has been moved to the Ministry of Internal Trade and Major General Sanjeeva Munasinghe has been appointed in her place.

Munasinghe is a serving military officer and currently the Officer Commanding the Army Medical Corp. He is also a practising Consultant Radiologist.

Jayawardhana is a career Sri Lanka Administrative Service officer who was at one time the Colombo Municipal Commissioner.

The Ministry of Health is one of the biggest and most prestigious positions in the government service and helming it during the CIVID 19 pandemic was a major challenge.

Another military officer, Retired Major General Sumedha Perera has been appointed as Secretary to the Mahaweli Ministry.

The Ministry of Mahaweli, Agriculture, Irrigation and Rural Development is the biggest ministry with massive resources including some of the largest tracts of land.

Perera is a former Gajaba Regiment officer.

The other appointments are M S Mohamed to the Justice Ministry, J J Ratnasiri to the Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs and Local Government, S Hettiarachchi to Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation and H K D Hapuhinna to the Ministry of Women’s and Children’s Affairs. (Colombo May 11, 2020)

Reported by Arjuna Ranawana






Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *