Header Ad

Ranee Jayamaha, Samantha Kumarasinghe appointed to Sri Lanka central bank board

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka’s Constitutional Council had confirmed Ranee Jayamaha, a former Deputy Governor and Samantha Kumarasinghe, a businessman as members of the rate setting monetary board.

Media director of Sri Lanka’s parliament, Shan Wijetunga said the two proposed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa had been confirmed by a meeting of the constitutional council chaired by former speaker Karu Jayasuriya.

Jayamaha had been a Deputy Governor of the central bank and had also been a director of Hatton National Bank after she retired.

Kumarasinghe is chairman of Nature’s Beauty, a cosmetics firm.

Two members of the Monetary Board, Nihal Fonseka and Dushni Weerakoon earlier resigned before their term ended to make way for the new appointment, causing controvery.