SLFP to discipline five national list MPs who jumped to other parties

The Central Committee of Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) will take disciplinary action against five national list party MPs who crossed over to other parties, SLFP Secretary-General Dayasiri Jayasekara said.

The MPs include S.B. Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, A.H.M. Fowzie, Vijith Vijithamuni Zoysa and Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena.

Jayasekara said that letters calling for explanations from the five MPs were posted yesterday (3 Sept) and that they are given five days to answer.

“If they failed to do so it further actions will be taken,” he added.

At a media briefing, this morning (4 Sept) at the SLFP headquarters in Colombo, Jayasekara said that the party have been faulted many occasions by its members for failing to take disciplinary action against those who crossed over.

Also speaking to the media Mahinda Amaraweera said another party won’t have been formed in the country if the SLFP had taken proper disciplinary actions against those who crossed over.

He also said since President Sirisena and the party believes in democracy and because we trusted those who took membership in SLPP would join us in the future, the party didn’t want to take such actions.

“ Otherwise we had the chance to sack all the members who recently took membership in other parties,” he added.

Further, he said that the reasoning the members who crossed over gave to the party was that they are not willing to work with UNP under one government, “but now we have come out of the government, even then we thought they would join us again,” Amaraweera said.

He said that the party has also decided to take disciplinary action against the local councillors who crossed over in recent times.





He also said none of them who crossed over would have been MPs anymore if he had not written a letter to the parliament as the General Secretary of the UPFA about the party’s decision during the time when parliament memberships were about to be removed from the SLFP members through a Parliamentary Select Committee for taking membership in SLPP. 

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *