Header Ad

SLMC renegade MPs asked to explain why they voted for the 20A

ECONOMYNEXT – The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) has called for an explanation from the four of their Members of Parliament who voted in favour of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution on Thursday, a statement from the party said.

The SLMC which joined the Samagi Jana Balavegaya (SJB) alliance to contest this year’s Parliamentary General Elections had issued a three-line Whip for all its members to vote against the Amendment which gave President Gotabaya sweeping powers over Parliament and the Judiciary.

However, four SLMC MPs and the Assistant Secretary of the alliance Diana Gamage broke ranks and voted in favour of the amendment.

Yesterday after a Parliamentary Group meeting the SJB Secretary-General Ranjith Madduma Bandara announced that all those who ignored the Whip would be expelled from the party.

The SLMC Party Secretary Nizam Kariapper said its own members had met soon afterwards and after a “lengthy discussion” the MPs who voted in favour of the 20A were asked to explain their position to the High Command of the party.

This would enable the party to take further steps on the matter a statement issued by Kariapper said.

The four MPs, H M M Harees, Faizal Cassim, M Thowfeek, and Nazeer Ahamed were present at the said meeting.

(Colombo, October 24, 2020)
Reported by Arjuna Ranawana

Latest Comments


  1. You can fool some of the people all the time; all the people some of the time; but, NOT ALL THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME! You people use the community as the trademark to achieve your INSATIABLE greed for power, perks and wealth! You all are the real enemies of the community. Enough is enough. At least now go home without selling the community anymore!!! Bloody hypocrites!

Latest comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *