Some members not invited to UNP Working Committee meeting today

ECONOMYNEXT – The United National Party’s highest decision-making body the Working Committee is due to meet today but several of its sitting members have told EconomyNext that they have not received invitations.

Party insiders say many of those who backed Sajith Premadasa’s bid for the post of Party Leader to replace Ranil Wickremesinghe will be removed from the Working Committee in this manner.

UNP Parliamentarian Ajith P Perera told reporters a short while ago that he too has not got his invitation for the meeting which is to meet at the headquarters in Kotte at 3pm.

The General Secretary of the party Akila Viraj Kariyawasam told EconomyNext that those individuals who have been disinvited “have not been appointed” to the working Committee

Kariyawasam confirmed that Perera and Field Marshall Sarath Fonseka will not be appointed to the Committee because of “some public statements they have made which have brought disrepute to the party.”

Perera said that no formal disciplinary process has been initiated against him.

Today’s meeting is due to discuss preparations for the upcoming Parliamentary General election which is likely to be held in the last week of April.

They are expected to discuss a proposal where Premadasa will be the Prime Ministerial candidate at the elections and leader of the UNP-led alliance while Wickremesinghe will stay on as Party Leader.

The tussle between the Sajith and Ranil factions have riven the party and acted as a major factor in the massive defeat the UNP-led coalition suffered at the Presidential election. The winning candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa received nearly 1.4 million votes more than the UNP challenger Premadasa.





Tags :

Latest Comments

1 Comment

  1. Appointing Sajith again will be again the case of the rug being pulled fr under his feet.His verbose speeches wiil be words without leaders thoughts that never to heavan will go

Latest comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *