Header Ad

Sri Lanka appoints impermanent secretaries

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka’s President has appointed a series of secretaries, the top career post in a ministry after the election of a new administration, continuing a practice that lies at the heart of the breakdown of the country’s public service

Sri Lanka’s public service lost its independence and politicians were able to mistreat citizens and deny justice and rule of law them after the 1972 constitution abolished the civil service commission, which appointed, transferred or disciplined the then ‘permanent’ secretary.

Under the civil service commission, secretaries were ‘permanent’ unless they did something wrong and they were punished after an inquiry. During the general elections a secretary was transferred but there was no mention of due process.

Under the 1972 secretaries were appointed by the cabinet and after the 1979 they were appointed and transferred by the President himself dealing the final blow to an independent public service.

After that whenever ministry secretaries did the right thing by the people or tried to battle corruption and defied a minister or the president they were transferred to a ‘pool’, destroying their dignity and ability to stand up for what is right and just.

Though the proposed Constitutional Council is expected to have made the public service more independent, it was also stuffed with a majority of politicians and there was no assurance that ministry secretaries would be made permanent.

The President’s media office said Secretary to the President P B Abeykoon had given letters of appointment to 44 impermanent secretaries, in the presence Secretary to the Prime Minister Saman Ekanayake and the Secretary to the Cabinet Ministers Sumith Abeysinghe.

The new impermanent secretaries are as follows:

1. C. Sivagnanasothi – Ministry of Rehabilitation- Resettlement and Hindu Religious Affairs

2. R. H. S. Samarathunga – Ministry of Finance





3. S. M. Gotabhaya Jayaratne – Ministry of Labour and Trade Union Relations

4. W. M. V. Narampanawa – Minister of Parliamentary Reform and Mass Media

5. W. M. Bandusena – Ministry Education

6. J. K. D. Amarawardana – Ministry of Primary Industries

7. Udaya R. Seneviratne – Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment

8. Nihal Somaweera – Ministry of Transport

9. W. S. Karunaratne – Ministry of Mineral Oil and Petrolium Gas

10. Wasantha Ekanayake – Ministry Buddha Sasana

11. P. H. L. Wimalasiri Perera – Ministry of Postal Service & Muslim Affairs

12. P. H. J. B. Sugathadasa – Ministry of Tourism Development and Christian Affairs

13. G. S. Vithanage – Ministry of Foreign Employment

14. S. S. Miyanawala – Ministry of Disaster Management

15. Padmasiri Jayamanna – Ministry of Justice

16. R. M. D. B. Meegasmulla – Ministry of Sustainable Development and Wild Life

17. V. B. P. K. Weerasinghe – Ministry of National Dialogue

18. Upali Marasinghe – Ministry of Health- Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine

19. Gamini Rajakaruna – Ministry of Southern Development

20. A. M. Jayawickrama – Ministry of Plantations

21. D. M. R. B. Dissanayake – Ministry of Sports

22. B. Wijayaratne – Ministry of Agriculture

23. J. J. Rathnasiri – Ministry of Home Affairs

24. B. B. S. Batagoda – Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy

25. L. P. Jayampathi – Ministry of Ports and Shipping

26. M. I. F. Rafeek – Ministry of Policy Planning and Economic Affairs

27. I. H. K. Mahanama – Ministry of Lands

28. J. Dadallage – Ministry of Public Administration and Management

29. D. K. R. Ekanayake – Ministry of Rural Economy

30. R. Nadarasapille – Ministry of Upcountry New Villages- Infrastructure Facilities and Communit Development

31. T. M. K. B. Thennakoon – Ministry of Industry and Commerce

32. C. Vageeshwara – Ministry of Foreign Affairs

33. N. Rupasinghe – Ministry of Megapolice and Western Development

34. Karunasena Hettiarachchi – Ministry of Defence

35. P. Ranepura – Ministry of Skill Development and Vocational Training

36. D. Swarnapala – Ministry of Internal Affairs- Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs

37. M. Senevirathne – Ministry of Social Empowerment and Welfare

38. R. Vijayalakshmi – Ministry of Technology- Technical Education and Employment

39. W. M. M. R. Adhikari – Ministry of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources

  40. D. C. Dissanayake – Ministry of University Education and Highways

41. W. K. K. Athukorala – Ministry of Housing and Construction

42. Jagath Wijeweera – Ministry of Law and Order and Prisons Reform

43. Chandrani Senarathne – Ministry of Women and Children’s Affairs

44. Ravindra Hewawitharana – Ministry of Public Enterprise Development


Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *