Sri Lanka bans travel from UK, Belgium and Norway

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka has banned travel from UK, Belgium and Norway from March 16 for two weeks, as part of Coronavirus controls, extending restrictions already in place to nine European countries.

All direct and offline carriers have been instructed not to board passengers who had been in the UK, Belgium and Norway in the last 14 days, Sri Lanka’s Civil Aviation Authority has said.

The ban will apply to flights arriving from March 15 2359h, Sri Lanka time and will end on March 30, 2400 hours.

“Accordingly all airlines are strongly instructed not to board during the aforementioned period in any of their flights destined to Sri Lanka, any passenger who is either originating from the aforementioned States or who has been in any of those countries within the last 14 days,” the statement said.

After midnight March 15, all arrivals from the destinations would be sent to quarantine. (Colombo/Mar15/2020)

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *