Sri Lanka gets 7 new non-cabinet ministers

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka appointed two new state ministers and five deputy ministers on Tuesday, the President’s office said.

Ranjith Aluvihare was appointed State Minister for Tourism Development and Christian Affairs and Lucky Jayawardena was sworn in by President Maithripala Sirisena as State Minister for Hill Country New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development.

Aluvihare and Jayawardena belong to Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe’s United National Party

The five new deputy ministers comprise three Members of Parliament representing the UNP:

Ajith Mannapperuma – Ministry of Environment

Edward Gunasekara – Ministry of Internal Affairs and Wayamba Development

Nalin Bandara Jayamaha – Ministry of Public Administration and Management and Law and Order.

The other two new deputy ministers represent President Sirisena’s Sri Lanka Freedom Party:

Angajan Ramanathan – Ministry of Agriculture

Kader Masthan – Ministry of Resettlement, Rehabilitation, Northern Development and Hindu Religious Affairs.





(COLOMBO, 12 June 2018) 

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *