Header Ad

Sri Lanka monetary board vacancies full from June 29

ECONMYNEXT – Sri Lanka’s central bank said all vacancies in its governing monetary board has been filled with effect from June 29, 2020, with Ranee Jayamaha, a former central banker, Samantha Kumarasinghe, a businessman being appointed together with Sanjeeva Jayawardena a lawyer in effect from February 26, 2020.

Ranee Jayamaha

Ranee Jayamaha has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Monetary Board Advisory Audit Committee of the Central Bank.

She currently serves as a Director at Overseas Realty (Ceylon) Ltd. and the Regional Centre for Strategic Studies and as a Member of the Governing Council of the Marga Institute.

She served at the central bank for 38 years as a career banker, retiring in 2009 as the Deputy Governor in-charge of financial system stability.

During her tenure at the central bank, she served (on secondment) as the Secretary to the Presidential Commission on Finance and Banking, Advisor to the Ministry of Finance, and Special Advisor (Economic) at the Commonwealth Secretariat, London, UK.

After retiring from CBSL, she has served as an Advisor to the President on banking from 2009 to 2015 and as the Chairperson of the Hatton National Bank PLC from 2011 to 2015.

On the international finance and banking front, Jayamaha has served as the Lead Consultant (South Asia) for the World Bank Group, as an Advisor on Payment Systems to the Central Banks of Bangladesh, Brunei, Bhutan, Iran, and the Maldives.

She was also a Member of the Global Payments Group of the World Bank, Advisor to the G-8 Remittance Group, and a Member of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) General Payment System Guidelines Committee.

Overall, she has 45 years of experience in national and international macro and monetary economics, central banking, regulation and supervision, payment systems, including e-money deployment and financial inclusion.





Sanjeeva Jayawardena

Sanjeeva Jayawardena has been appointed as the Chairman of the Ethics Committee of the CBSL.
According to CBSL, he is the first President’s Counsel to serve on the Monetary Board of the CBSL. He presently serves as the Chairman of the Monetary Board Risk Oversight Committee.

He is a lawyer by profession, specializing in all aspects of Appellate law, as well as Constitutional and Public Law, and has a varied practice in diverse fields and subjects, including civil, contractual, commercial, property, taxation, banking, and other disciplines of the law.

He has been practicing exclusively in the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeal for the last 27 years, having been called to the Bar in 1992. He was thereafter conferred Silk, as President’s Counsel, in the year 2012.

Samantha Kumarasinghe

Samantha Kumarasinghe is a businessman serving as Chairman and Managing Director of several companies in Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Vietnam that operate in industrial sectors across cosmetics, textile chemicals, household cleaning products, organic food, and biological fertilizers.

He currently serves as a member of the Presidential Task Force for Economic Revival and Poverty Eradication (2020), President of Lanka Industry Forum for Empowerment (LIFE) (2018 to date), and Chairman of Cosmetics Sector Advisory Committee at the Ministry of Industries (2016 to date).

He has also served in the capacities of a member of Presidential Industrialization Commission (from 2018 to 2019), a board member of the Insurance Board of Sri Lanka (2012 to 2014), a committee member of the Implementation of the Integrated Curriculum, Subjects and Review of Academic Activities Process of the Ministry of Education (2013) and as Commissioner of the Presidential Taxation Commission (2009 to 2010).

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *