Sri Lanka political crisis continues

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka’s political crisis is continuing with a spokesman for President Maithripala Sirisena saying he has rejected the latest no-confidence motion passed in parliament against Mahinda Rajapaksa and his government.

Legislator Lakshman Yapa Abeywardene was quoted in local media as saying that President Sirisena has not accepted that the no-confidence motion was passed according to standard procedure.

Sri Lanka’s Speaker has informed President Sirisensa that the no-confidence motion was passed with the backing of 122 legislators, taking a voice vote as there was unrest in parliament.

Legislators of the so-called joint opposition, loyal to Mahinda Rajapaksa occupied the Speaker’s chair and engaged in a noisy protest preventing the starting of sessions.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya entered parliament in the middle of a police cordon and called for the no-confidence motion as books, furniture and chillie water were thrown, injuring policemen and other legislators.

Meanwhile Mahinda Rajapaksa issuing a statement said under standard procedure, a motion of no-confidence has to be signed by 20 legislators and has to be debated for five days.

Parliament had resolved to suspend standing orders and pass the motion.

In another development President Sirisena said in a message that he will not suspend the parliament.

Parliament is due to meet against on Monday November 19.





Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *