Sri Lanka president appoints four ministry secretaries

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka’s President Maithripala Sirisena had appointed new secretaries to four ministries.

H. M. Gamini Senevirathne was appointed Secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Employment Jayantha Wijeyrathne to the Ministry of Sports, Neil Ranjith Ashoka to the Ministry of Industry and Commerce and M A Sisira Kumara as Secretary to the Ministry of Irrigation and Water Resource Management.

The current administration since coming to power as also made wholesale changes to secretaries of ministries twice in 2015.

Sri Lanka’s decline in rule of law and arbitrary action against the citizens by the elected ruling class has been traced back to the abolition of the institution of permanent secretaries.

Before the 1972 constitution a civil service commission appointed and took disciplinary action against permanent secretaries, who served unchanged when administrations changed.

Critics have said that before 1972, secretaries had to do the right thing by the people to remain in their posts, but after that they had to do the wrong thing. Those who resisted the President was put in a ‘pool’.

A constitutional council was set up to make top appointments under pressure from civil society but secretaries were not included in it. (Colombo/Oct03/2017)

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *