Sri Lanka to move key state offices out of Colombo

ECONOMYNEXT – Key government agencies including the Sri Lankan Prime Minister’s office and President’s house will be moved to outlying areas from the centre of the city, as part of building the Megapolis in the Western Province, Minister Patali Ranawaka said.

"We have identified at least 33 government offices that will be shifted during the next 10 years," Minister Ranawaka told members of the National Chamber of Commerce of Sri Lanka.

"This includes President’s House, Presidential Secretariat and the Prime Minister’s office and Prime Minister’s residence."

Manning Market in Colombo’s Pettah area would be moved to accommodate a transport hub shortly.

A relocation administration is to set up.  Under the Megapolis plan 113 state agencies including 50 Departments, 32 Authorities and Boards, 31 ministries are expected to be moved.

Battaramulla, Kaduwela and Kottawa would be key locations.

Among other agencies that are expected to be moved in the first phase are prisons headquarters, Mahweli Authority, Department of Survey, Labour Secretariat, Department of Motor Traffic, CID office add the Postal Department.

Other agencies include, Sri Lanka Telecom, Ceylon Electricity Board, National Housing Development Authority and Ministries of Transport and Disaster Management. (Colombo/Jan25/2016)
 (Colombo/January 25, 2016)

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *