Sri Lanka’s central bank gets new deputy governors

ECONOMYNEXT – The Monetary Board of Sri Lanka’s Central Bank has promoted Assistant Governors S R Attygalle and H A Karunaratne as Deputy Governors with effect from 31st October 2018.

A statement said the appointments were made with the concurrence of the new Minister of Finance, former president Mahinda Rajapaksa, who was appointed prime minister by President Maithripala Sirisena in a controversial move last month.

Attygalle, whom Rajapaksa named the new Treasury secretary from 31 October 2018, has over 27 years of service in the Central Bank.

Attygalle held the position of Assistant Governor and had been released to the Ministry of Finance to serve as the Deputy Secretary to the Treasury, the statement said.

He held many positions including Director General in both the Departments of Fiscal Policy and Public Enterprises.

“This exposure helped Attygalle to gain his expertise knowledge and experience in both fiscal and monetary policy,” the statement said.

H A Karunaratne has over 32 years of experience in the Central Bank especially in the areas of Economic and Price Stability, Financial System Stability and other agency functions.

Prior to the appointment as a eputy Governor, Karunaratne held the position of the Assistant Governor in-charge of Employees’ Provident Fund, Risk Management, and Secretariat Departments; and supervised the administrative matters of the Financial Intelligence Unit.

Karunaratne also served as the Secretary to the Monetary Board of the Central Bank for nearly four years.

He holds a Master of Arts degree in Economics from Ohio University, USA and a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura. Karunaratne is an Associate Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka.





Karunaratne currently serves as the Vice Chairman of the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka (IBSL) and the Chairman of the Audit Committee of the IBSL.

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *