Sri Lankan president appoints more Cabinet ministers

ECONOMYNEXT – More Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers were sworn in by Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena Friday, a week after his shock dismissal of prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe triggered a constitutional crisis.

The president’s office said in a statement S.B. Nawinne, a former Cabinet minister and parliamentarian of Wickremesinghe’s United National Party was sworn in as Minister of Cultural Affairs, Internal Affairs and Regional Development.

Sirisena also swore in llankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK) member of parliament S. Viyalendiran as the Deputy Minister of Regional Development (Eastern Development).

The Ministry of Defence, Law and Order and Youth Affairs falls under President Maithripala Sirisena

The cabinet ministers previously sworn in after Sirisena appointed former president Mahinda Rajapaksa as the new prime minister are:

Mahinda Rajapaksa – Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

Duminda Dissanayake – Minister of Irrigation, Water Resources and Disaster Management

Dayasiri Jayasekara – Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training

Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation.

Sarath Amunugama – Minister of Foreign Affairs





Mahinda Samarasinghe – Minister of Ports and Shipping

Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Agriculture

Ranjith Siyambalapitiya – Minister of Power and Renewable Energy

Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe – Minister of Education and Higher Education.

Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa – Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources Development and Rural Economic Affairs

Faiszer Musthapha – Minister of Provincial Councils, Local Government, and Sports

Douglas Devananda – Minister of Resettlement, Rehabilitation, Northern Development, & Hindu Religious Affairs

Arumugam Thondaman – Minister of Hill Country New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development.

Wasantha Senanayake – Minister of Tourism and Wildlife


Piyasena Gamage – State Minister of Youth, Women & Child Affairs

Lakshman Seneviratne – State Minister of Defence

M.L.A.M. Hizbullah – State Minister of Highways and Road Development

Mohan Lal Grero – State Minister of Education and Higher Education

Shriyani Wijeywickrama – State Minister of Provincial Councils & Local Government And Sports

Suresh Vadivel – State Minister of Plantation Industries

Dunesh Gankanda – State Minister of Environment


Angajan Ramanathan – Deputy Minister of Agriculture

Manusha Nanayakkara – Deputy Minister of Labor and Foreign Employment

Sarathie Dushmantha s- Deputy Minister of Justice and Prison Reforms

Nishantha Muthuhettigama – Deputy Minister of Ports and Shipping

Kader Masthan – Deputy Minister of Resettlement, Rehabilitation, and Northern Development.

Indika Bandaranayake – Deputy Minister of Housing and Urban Development

Ananda Aluthgamage sworn in as Deputy Minister of Tourism and Wildlife.


Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *