Header Ad
Header Ad

SriLankan Airlines in code-share deal with Jetstar Asia

EconomyNext – SriLankan Airlines has struck a new code-share agreement with Jetstar Asia giving customers access to seven cities in South East Asia and Australia.

"SriLankan passengers will benefit from the convenience of a single ticket itinerary that includes SriLankan’s baggage allowance," the national carrier said in a statement.

"Passengers will enjoy a seamless transfer at Singapore’s Changi airport, with baggage being through checked and onward boarding passes being received at the initial departure point."

From 5 April 2015, SriLankan customers will be able to travel on code-share services operated by Jetstar Asia on seven routes from Jetstar Asia’s hub in Singapore.

The cities of Darwin, Phnom Penh and Phuket will be new destinations to SriLankan’s customers. The other destinations to be included are Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City, Kuala Lumpur and Perth.
SriLankan Airlines currently operates up to three daily services to Singapore.

SriLankan Airlines Chief Executive Kapila Chandrasena said he considers the agreement as a means for enhanced tourism between the Indian subcontinent and Asia-Pacific regions. 

“Our customers will (also) be able to connect with our daily frequencies to India, Pakistan and the Maldives further boosting tourism between the two regions."

The code-share deal will provide passengers attractive itineraries as well as enhance Jetstar’s regional footprint, said Jetstar Asia Chief Executive Barathan Pasupathi.

The Jetstar Group will now have five codeshare partners on selected routes – Qantas Airways, Emirates, Japan Airlines, American Airlines and SriLankan Airlines.






Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *