Header Ad

All schools to be closed tomorrow – Mistry of Education

Schools across the island will be closed tomorrow (15) in view of the presidential election scheduled for Saturday (16), the Ministry of Education said in a statement.

This is following a request made by the National Election Commission regarding the usage of schools as polling or counting stations.

All schools serving as polling counting centres will be handed over to their respective Grama Nildhari offices after school hours today, the statement added.

A total of 16 schools have been named counting centres:

  • D. S. Senanayake College and  Royal College in Colombo
  • Paththalagedara Vidyaloka Maha Vidyalaya in Gampaha
  • Musaeus College in Kalutara North
  • Kandy Model School
  • Christ Church College in Matale
  • Gamini National College in Nuwara Eliya
  • Sujatha Vidyalaya in Matara
  • St. Aloysius’ College in Galle
  • Suvi National School in Hambantota
  • Central College in Jaffna
  • Hindu College in Batticaloa
  • Sir John Kotelawala College, Maliyadeva Boys College in Kurunegala
  • St. Andrew’s Central College, Fathima Balika Maha Vidyalaya, and Sheinan Primary School in Puttalam
  • Central College, Anuradhapura
  • Central College, Vishaka Girls’ High School in Badulla
  • Royal College, Monaragala
  • Swarna Jayanthi Maha Vidyalaya, Kegalu Balika Vidyalaya in Kegalle

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *