Header Ad

Breaking: Several SJB MPs including Assistant Secretary Diana Gamage support 20th A

ECONOMYNEXT – The Second Reading of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution sailed through Parliament tonight with a number of the main opposition Samagi Jana Balavegaya (SJB) Members of Parliament supporting the government’s proposal.

Of the 213 MPs in the House 156, an overwhelming majority more than two thirds voted for with 65 against.

Among the supporters are several MPs from the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress who voted in favour despite a last –minute appeal from the party leader Rauff Hakeem to oppose the motion. The dissident group was led by Hakeem’s Deputy Naseer Ahamed.

Most of them are from the Eastern Province.

The notable member who voted for the government is the National List MP for the SJB Diana Gamage, an Assistant Secretary of the Party.

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *