Header Ad

Cabinet approves 12 solar power plant projects

The Cabinet of Ministers has approved 12 solar power plant projects as proposed by Power and Energy Minister Ravi Karunanayake.

The proposed projects will see the addition of 1 MW to the Trincomalee grid substation and five solar power plants adding 1 MW to the Monaragala grid substation, a statement from the Office of the Cabinet of Ministers said.

Three of the seven proposed plants (1 MW) for Trincomalee was awarded to Sancor Solar City (Pvt) Ltd and the other 4 projects to Capital City Holding (Pvt) Ltd.

Four of the five Solar Power Plants proposed to Monaragala was awarded to Golden Corporation Lanka (Pvt) Ltd and the other project to Nihon Green Power Company (Pvt)Ltd.

These solar power plants are being built under the ‘Surya Bala Sangramaya’ programme, where 17 grid substations have been identified as suitable for 90 small-scale solar power plants.

Tags :

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *