Header Ad

Curfew lifted tomorrow in 19 districts except high-risk areas

ECONOMYNEXT – Curfews are lifted at 6 am tomorrow in all districts of the country except for the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara,  Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna which have been identified as High-Risk Zones, the President’s office said.

In all other districts, curfew will be lifted at 6.00am tomorrow, Thursday, the 16th April and will be re-imposed at 4.00 pm on the same day. Curfew in these areas will be effective until 6.00 am on Monday, the 20th April.

The continuation of curfew in these districts after 6.00 am on April 20th will be notified later.

Also, the Government asks residents to purchase only the most essential items and to avoid unnecessary travelling. The Government further requests to limit the rituals associated with the Sinhala and Tamil New Year only to the members of the family.

The government has put in place a mechanism to continuously supply essential food and other goods enabling the public to purchase them while at homes, during curfew hours.

Those who are engaged in paddy farming and fishing and cultivation of small tea holdings and export crops in any district are permitted to carry out their activities.

Travelling to and from all districts has been completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the prime objective of ensuring the smooth and efficient functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law.

The villages which have been declared isolated areas in any district will remain in the same category.  No one will be allowed to enter or leave from these areas until further notice. (Colombo April 15, 2020)






Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *