SLPP leading the way in Election Law violations in first half of the day – CMEV

MOSTLY PEACEFUL POLL – Voters lined up at a polling station in Anuradhapura

ECONOMYNEXT- The first six hours of the poll has seen a total of 161 violations of the Election Laws the Centre for Monitoring Election Violence (CMEV) said with the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna responsible for most of them.

There had been the most number of violations reported from the Kegalle district where 16 reports were made, CMEV said in a statement.

Accordingly, the violations reported from other electoral districts are as follows,

Colombo 5, Gampaha 8, Kalutara 3, Matale 5, Kandy 13,Galle 12,Matara 8,Hambantota 5, Jaffna 10, Vanni 6,Badulla 12,Rathnapura 11,Digamadulla 5,Anuradhapura 5,Polonnaruwa 3, Puttalam 9,Batticaloa 2, Trincomalee 5, Nuwara Eliya 1 and Monaragala 6.

Based on the parties from which the most violations were reported during that period, there were 86 violations reported by the SLPP, while 18 violations are from the Samagi Jana Balawegaya, 10 from United National Party, 6 from Illankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi, 2 from National Peoples’ Power,20 from other parties and 17 from public officials/police.

The type of violations includes 87 incidences of illegal campaigning, 33 incidents of intimidation or forcible influencing, 11 incidents of illegal poster cutouts, 8 incidents of violating health guidelines and few others. (Colombo/Aug5/2020)


Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *