Header Ad

Sri Lanka forms high powered economic committee with coalition bigwigs

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka has appointed a ministerial committee on economic management headed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe which also includes two senior cabinet members from the second largest party in the country minister Rajitha Senaratne said.

Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake, International Trade and Investment Minister Malik Samarawickreme, Kabir Hashim, Sagala Ratnayake, Champika Ranawaka, Rauf Hakeem, Arjuna Ranatunga and Nimal Siripala and Anura Priyadarshana Yapa from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party of President Maithripala Sirisena will be in the committee.

Wickremesinghe’s United National Party which emerged as the largest group with Champika Ranawaka (Jathika Hela Urumaya), Arjuna Ranatunga and Rauf Hakeem (Sri Lanka Muslim Congress) also contesting within it.

Another sub-committee on ‘cost-of-living’ chaired by Malik Samarawickreme, will also meet weekly. Other members will be Ravi Karunanayake, P Harison, Akila Viraj Kariyasam and John Seneviratne. (Colombo/Sept24/2015

Latest Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *