An Echelon Media Company
Tuesday September 28th, 2021

Sri Lanka public service should change attitude, identify weaknesses: President

ECONOMYNEXT – Sri Lanka’s public service should go through an attitudinal transformation and use technology, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa had told newly appointed secretaries to non-cabinet rank state ministries.

All weaknesses of the public sector should be identified promptly and accurately to develop the country, he had said after appointing new secretaries.

There should be a attitudinal transformation in the public sector and modern technology should be used, he said.

President Rajapaksa had said he had discussed training opportunities in India.

Critics have said that Sri Lanka’s public service started to weaken after the institution of permanent secretaries was broken and impermanent secretaries were brought in.

The following persons were appointed secretaries to 32 state ministries.

1. Mr. S. H. Harischandra – State Ministry of Water Supply Facilities

2. Prof. Ranjith Dissanayake – State Ministry of Urban Development

3. Mr. S. Senanayake – State Ministry of Irrigation and Rural Development

4. Mr. M. C. L. Rodrigo – State Ministry of Land and Land Development

5. Ms. S. H. A. N. D. Abeyratne – State Ministry of Economic and Policy Development

6. Mr. B. K. S. Ravindra – State Ministry of Public Administration and Local Government

7. Mr. D. A. W. Wanigasooriya – State Ministry of Railway Services

8. Prof. Sunanda Madduma Bandara – State Ministry of Information and Communication Technology

9. Ms. D. S. Wijesekara – State Ministry of Small and Medium Scale Enterprise Development

10. Ms. L. D. Senanayake – State Ministry of International Cooperation

11. Miss. R. S. M. V. Seneviratne – State Ministry of Indigenous Medicine Services

12. Ms. A. S. Padmalatha – State Ministry of Women and Child Affairs

13. Mr. K. H. D. K. Samarakoon – State Ministry of Power

14. Mr. M. A. B. V. Bandaranayake – State Ministry of Youth Affairs

15. Mr. M. Devasurendra – State Ministry of Energy

16. Mr. S. G. Wijayabandu – State Ministry of Public Management and Accounting

17. Mr. S. Arumeinayagam – State Ministry of Investments Promotion

18. Mr. M. S. S. S. Fernando – State Ministry of Tourism Promotion

19. Mr. C. S. Lokuhetti – State Ministry of Technology and Innovation

20. Ms. G. C. Karunaratne – State Ministry of Human Rights and Legal Reforms

21. Mr. A. Senanayake – State Ministry of Mahaweli Development

22. Mr. M. I. Amir – State Ministry of Export Agriculture

23. Mr. D. D. Mataraarachchi – State Ministry of Development Banks and Loan Schemes

24. Mr. N. P. V. C. Piyathilleke – State Ministry of Ports Development

25. Miss. E. M. M. R. K. Ekanayake – State Ministry of Transport Services Management

26. Miss. K. W. T. N. Amaratunge – State Ministry of Road Development

27. Miss. A. K. W. W. M. N. K. Weerasekara – State Ministry of Wildlife Resources

28. Ms. W. A. D. C. Rupasinghe – State Ministry of Environment

29. Mr. K. A. K. R. Dharmapala – State Ministry of Fisheries and Freshwater Fishing Industries

30. Miss. K. G. A. Alawatta – State Ministry of Social Security

31. Miss. R. Vijayalechchumi – State Ministry of Community Development

32. Mr. Anuradha Wijekoon – State Ministry of Tea Industries Development

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *